Government investment in the arts, such as music and theatre, is a waste of money. Governments must invest this money in public services instead. To what extent do you agree with this statement??

Nowadays, government expenditure has increased not only for public services but also for the arts. In my opinion, I agree that it is important to spend money on public services. However, I also believe that government expenditure on arts is essential and not a waste of money. To begin with, government investment in public investments evidently has its benefits. It helps to improve the quality of life, reduce the death rate, improve the literacy rate and promote the development of infrastructure. For instance, expenditure on healthcare facilities ensures clean drinking water and proper medical care. As a result, improving the health of the society. Similarly, if the government spends money on education and infrastructure, it protects the children’s right to free education. This helps in increasing the literacy level and reducing poverty. On the contrary, this does not mean that arts must be neglected. First and foremost, expenditure on arts helps to promote the culture and lifestyle of a country. Consequently, it attracts many tourists who are curious to learn about different cultures, thereby generating income for the economy. Similarly, many renowned artists have won Nobel prizes for their contributions to the field of art and literature. Lastly, government investment becomes essential for those institutions which are not able to generate enough money and are forced to shut down. In conclusion, there are clear advantages to spending a large amount of government money on public services. That said, I strongly disagree that spending money on arts is a waste as it not only serves as a source of entertainment but also helps to improve the quality of life.