Social media helps people to keep in touch with friends and stay on top of news and events. Do you think the advantages of social media outweigh the disadvantages?

These day, social media have become much broader popularity in this modern world. Although, it can help people keep in touch with others and follow the trends, it causes people to get stresses. In the following paragraphs, the benefits and drawbacks of social media will be outlined in detail. To begin with, it is undeniable that most people in the world have spent more than 6 hours per day on social media, being the third component of their bodies. One of the major benefit is that people can update the latest news immediately. For example, the news is announcing about fires and while people are scrolling their phones, they could know that which place they should not visit. Additionally, the news mostly come from sharing by their friends and following pages on social media. Furthermore, social media leading people close to one others more, especially their peers. To illustrate, despite the fact that people have not met or talked with their friends for long, they can perceive each others life by just watching through social media such as Facebook, Instagram, even Tiktok. Even through, social media has much wider benefits, it causes plenty of drawbacks which is lacking of speeches. For instance, people always look on their phones all the time and not much talk to each others even when dinning. Next, social media also causes people getting more stress. For example, when they see their friends bought something new, it is certainly true that they would have that things like their friends. In addition, the trend on social media also update all the time, leading to getting more stress since most people would follow the trends. To summarize, from my perspective, social media offers both advantages and disadvantages equally which depends on individual in time spending.