In the future, people may no longer be able to pay for things in shops using cash. All payments may have to be made by card or using phones. Do you think this will happen one day. Why do you think some people might not be happy to give up using cash.

Today is the era of technology in which more and more consumers have used their cards or phones to pay their bills. In my opinion, cash will be banned in the future although some people will reluctant to accept that. There is a number of reasons why governments may stop issuing bank notes. First, if all the transactions are paid through the banks, authorities will be able to control the spending and tax paying of the citizen. Secondly, cards and phones are convenient, as they are easy for users to track all their expenditures through their account statements, and are able to reclaim a refund if errors occur. Finally, carrying money can enhance the matter of safety such as the risk of robbery and hygiene which threatens general health. For example, during the Covid pandemic, many countries asked people not to use cash to reduce the widespread of viruses. However, for some individuals, this may be an uncomfortable requirement. Most people of the old generation are not technologically savvy, as they do not how to fix when cards or phones have problems. For example, my father has never used a card or phone for payments because he finds it complicated to manipulate. In addition, others may find it easier to restrict their expenditures when seeing their bank notes reduced than swiping their cards. Furthermore, some people like using bank notes just simply because they like the feeling of holding money and counting the bills which make them a sense of wealth. In conclusion, I believe cash will totally disappear one day in the future, and all of us will have to be accustomed to it regardless of liking or disliking.