Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children). To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, a lot of people reckon that volunteer services ought to be obligatory in high school curriculum plans. In my opinion, I agree that work for our school community should be done to transform the place where we live and study. In fact, performing social work will broaden students ’ horizons and knowledge about a variety of processes in their community. What is more, it could help to understand all the prospects and challenges of the life of young adults. Undoubtedly, the key factor of doing such task is the willingness of students to improve their community. That is why adults and teachers at schools should encourage students to do voluntary work, to explain them why it is important and help them with that. For example, working with elderly people or disabled people or taking care of children not only helps them in such difficult situations but also give them a wide knowledge and grows a powerful sense of responsibility for others. Gradually, these participants will not only become familiar with life difficulties but also grow into being empathetic to others. This work can be divided into different categories as not everyone can do physical activities. Moreover, volunteers can also gain work skills that would be suitable for their future career and will be helpful during the admission process to university. On the other hand, unpaid work requires a lot of time and patience. It can be harmful for students who focus on the study of precise sciences. Nevertheless, these non-academic services can help students to feel less stressed and make them feel relieved and tension free. As a result, students can concentrate on more difficult subjects and perform well in passing exams. In conclusion, social services can teach vital skills for young students as their knowledge will be broadened with practical experience. Volunteering can help to develop communities and improve the life of locals.