Nowadays, plastic money replacements such as credit and debit cards are extremely popular, even more than banknotes and coin. Advantages and Disadvantages

In the modern era, various types of paying cards tend to completely substitute traditional money equivalents like banknotes, cheques and coins. This essay will outline feasible advantages like the reduction of thefts and other minor crimes connected with money and the conservation of forests, as well as, pinpoint several demerits (high expenditures on banks` services and the disability to donate money to the homeless) of this phenomenon. One benefit of plastic money replacements is that they considerably dwindle the theft rates in any state. In other words, thieves are not able to steal a decent sum of money from a resident without acknowledging certain combinations of numbers to exploit any credit or debit card. Therefore, this type of money provides a human with the ability to secure his financial sources in public places. Moreover, such plastic items do not require any paper to create them. Consequently, the substitution of ordinary money for cards halts deforestation and preserves the environment. The prime example could be the prominent Russian bank “Tinkoff”, which serves only clients with “online” money in order to save an overwhelming amount of Russian forests. On the other hand, there are notable downsides of the aforementioned tendency. Firstly, modern banks tend to take large commissions for the exploitation of their debit and credit cards. Following this, a human being wastes a huge sum of money on this activity, which has a detrimental effect on his budget. Secondly, people, who do not use ordinary variants of money like banknotes and coins, are not able to donate anything to deprived human beings. People in need are occasionally given coins in order to purchase some essentials like clothes and food. Subsequently, the introduction of plastic cards and the reduction of coins` usage exert a negative influence on the lives of destitute people. For instance, Russian homeless people broke a habit of standing near churches and asking for money as they conceived that a typical person with cards could not give any means of likelihood to them. To conclude, I insist that plastic money replacements orchestrate financial order and safety in any country and suspend deforestation in any region. However, such means of money shrink residents` incomes and cause a notable harm to underprivileged people.