Some employers believe that job applicants’ social skills are more important than their academic qualifications. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The importance of a job has always been debatable and has now become more controversial with a few people claiming that the social skills of a job applicant are more important than their academic achievements for a particular job position. In my opinion, I completely disagree with the given view. Analysing the view and explaining further, I believe academic qualifications are important to enter a cooperative world. This is because there are specific criteria set by an organisation or a company for a particular job post. For instance, if you do not meet that criteria you are unable to work in that company. Academic qualifications show your skills to do a particular work. For example, if you have done a certain project during your graduation and achieved good grades by an examiner, this will showcase your skills to job givers. Moreover, job selection has changed these days. There are three to four stages which job applicants have to pass in order to get selected. When a person applies for a particular job, the first and foremost thing that he/she has to provide is a resume. Though a resume includes your social skills but academic qualifications are the main reason why the resumes are short-listed. Moreover, there are jobs which just require your academic skills as compared to your social skills. For example, it is not important for government hackers to possess any social skills. To conclude, according to the aforementioned points I believe that academic qualifications are an important aspect for job seekers apart from social skills.