Should wealthy people be obliged to share their financial success with poor people by supporting health services and education, or is this the responsibility of the poor to improve their own standard of living? Give your opinion.

Income and equality is an issue that has always been an unstoppable topic since the beginning of time. Whereas, some societies strongly disagree with “every man for himself”, others believe in helping their neighbour by aiding the health and education system. The following essay will utilise real-world examples to support arguments. Wealth distribution for social such as healthcare and education is seen as a basic societal right in many countries. For example, a recent study by the University of Copenhagen showed that when the rich were forced into sharing their income amongst the economically challenged, over 70% of the wealthy reported feeling a higher sense of well-being afterwards. Therefore, although it is undoubtedly contentious, there are tremendous benefits for rich and poor alike to participate in wealth-sharing endeavours. Secondly, evidence from history shows that laying the responsibility with the poor to improve their lot is clearly an erroneous policy. In most humanitarian governmental bodies, scientific reports have proved countless times that the initiative must start with external assistance. For instance, a pilot study showed that when poverty-stricken individuals were motivated by more than just themselves i.e. external mentors, they had a success rate three times higher than self-motivated candidates. Thus, experts generally agree that the most effective humanitarian assistance involves helping one to help themselves, which underscores the common expression “no man is an island”. To conclude, it is clear that when the rich share their wealth and property they stand to benefit. Furthermore, when the poor gain direct support the help given has a multiplier effect, therefore both actions should be strongly encouraged.