Discussion More and more people today are drinking sugar-based drinks. What are the reasons for this? What are the solutions?

Nowadays, numerous people seem to prefer sugary drinks to normal plain water. There are a few factors that contribute to this fad. This essay will address the possible reasons behind this trend. Firstly, one of the major factors for people to opt for sugary drinks due to the price. This is because sugary drinks such as Coke and Pepsi are cheaper as compared to plain mineral water. For example in Australia, the cost of a tin of Coke is a dollar cheaper than a normal Cool Ridge mineral water. In fact, it is easily accessible from the convenience store. Secondly, advertisement is one of the reasons why consumers choose sugary drinks. For instance, major brands like Coke paid billions of dollars in advertising their products and simultaneously influencing the consumer to purchase the drinks every time they pass any convenience store. There are few possible solutions to combat this issue. One of them involves the government taking the first step to educate people on a healthy lifestyle and the harmful consequences of sugary drinks. For example, providing lectures with information relating to diabetes through media or handing out flyers on promoting a healthy diet. This way, people become aware of the disadvantage of consuming excessive sugar. In addition, parents play an important role in preventing the issue. This is because if parents start to monitor the sugar intake of their children, fewer children will end up with diseases such as toothache and stomach ache caused by sugar. To summarize, the price and advertisement seem to be the main causes for people to opt for sugar based- drinks. Efforts by the parents and the government through health lectures and monitoring are important and seem to be the best approach to lessen the severity of the issue.