Many countries have compulsory military service for young men after they leave school. It would be a good idea for all countries to adopt this system for men, and possibly for women too. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is mandatory for young men of different nations to serve in the military once they graduate from school. This is often considered as a good idea for both men and women and encouraged by many to adopt this system in all countries. In my opinion, I do not agree with this statement and this essay will shed some light on why I disagree. Military service is a great opportunity for both genders to learn discipline. It will also help train the young generation prepare themselves for protecting their country. But making military service obligatory on all individuals seems like a drastic step. It raises the question that if all young adults go into military then what will happen to other sectors of the country. The higher education sector will be empty. The economy will definitely plummet. For example: Brazil is a country where military service is enforced on all males at 18 years but they have a poor economic backbone as a consequence. Additionally, I also believe in each individual's right to take their own decision. Young male and female should not be forced into military or any sector if they don't have the intrinsic motivation. It is to be considered that not everyone has the same expectations from life and their choices should be respected. For example: one might dream of studying medicine, someone else may want to start a business early and many might want to start a family early. Moreover, if people are forced to serve in the military, the quality of service will surely deteriorate. Many will suffer from depression and mental illness due to the pressure. In conclusion, I believe encouraging young adults to join military service by free will through promoting the positive sides of military is a better option. No individual should be forced into a sector they don't want to be a part of. Everyone should have the right to practice freedom.