Cycling is more environmentally friendly than other forms of transport. Why is it not popular in many places? How can its popularity can be incerased?

It is believed that cycling is a more environmentally friendly transportation as compared to other transport. However, cycling is not used by the majority of people in numerous places. This essay will elaborate on the main reasons why commuting by bicycle is not popular and ways to improve the popularity. On the one hand, there are a couple of fundamental factors why cycling does not gain popularity. Firstly, the lack of awareness about the benefit use bicycles on the environment. Using bicycle for daily commutes means people do not use other transport that release carbon dioxide gases. It is known that gases from transportation are the main contributing factor to climate change. Secondly, the accessibility of cycling in many places is not well-developed enough. There are certain systems required to improve the cycling scheme. For example, Netherlands is a country where many individuals use bicycle in their daily activities. It is because the cycling scheme is well-developed there where there is a specific path in the road for cycling, and lots of bicycle parking areas. Both reasons are the factors that make cycling unpopular. On the other hand, a campaign from the Ministry of Environment and the Ministry of Transportation is a possible solution to tackle the aforementioned issue. Those ministries can provide a car-free day at weekends to prevent car users on the road in the big city. The road can only access by bicycle and pedestrian. This way can raise the popularity of cycling in certain areas. Furthermore, the government also should provide cycling paths on the big road and cycling parking areas that connect with public transportation. Thus, people who want to commute further can park their bicycle near the public transportation spots. To sum up, even though cycling is one the environmentally friendly transport but it is not quite popular in many places. Raising awareness from the authorities and cycling scheme are the possible ways to increase cycling popularity.