These days people throw away a lot of the food that they buy from grocery stores or order at restaurants. Why do you think people throw away food? What can be done to reduce the amount of food waste? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Nowadays, people are throwing away a lot of food that they purchase from grocery stores or order at restaurants. This is becoming a serious environmental issue since the amount of food waste is rising every day. Why is this situation happening in our society, and what should we do to relieve this problem? The main reason people are throwing away food is because the food supply is much higher than the demand now. These days, we don't feel the lack of food anymore. Now, we can easily grab food from grocery stores or restaurants whenever we want. Since we don't feel the anxiety of hunger or crisis caused from not enough food, food waste problem is ignored. If we want to have more food than we can actually eat, we just simply order as lot as we want and then simply throw away. Based on this reason, what should be done to prevent the rising rate of food waste? First of all, the government can increase taxes on food waste. Even though there is a tax required when we are littering food, it is not a big threat to citizens now. Increasing the tax will provide potential threats to citizens to be aware of their food waste quantity and persuade them to reduce waste. Moreover, Campaigns including messages such as 'Less food waste can save our earth' can also help to convince people. The power of personal actions that can persuade people is much more emphasized now than before. In conclusion, the high rate of food waste has become a big environmental problem in our society. Since the food supply became way much higher than the food demand, now we are in an era where we never feel hunger nor the importance of food. Movements to reduce unmeaningful food litter are strongly required to everyone as a responsible citizen.