Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now 'one big traffic jam'. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

Our society progresses everyday as a result, we need more means of transport to travel to our jobs, homes etc. Nowadays, it's quite normal to watch car jam on a big street, but has the car ownership increased over the years. To begin with, I would like to present my point of view. Personally I am totally convinced that in modern times car usage has increased. First of all, now it is more financially available to buy more than one car. Secondly, big families have more vehicles. It is quite usual situation, when dad works on a jon which on the one side if a city and mother drives to the opposite side to strat her work. Thirdly, my own travelling experience proves that more and more countries have huge traffic jams. For instance London, traffic jams here are unavoidable. City is large, there are lots of buses, shipping vans, trucks with products, people who drive their families home etc. However, it all happens because of road network, routes are small and have only two traffic lanes. Subsequently more and more people choose public transport, like metro, bycicles or trains, they can reach place quickly and don't get late. Moreover, I firmly believe that governments can help us to stop car jams. Traffic facilities are able to increase taxes for vehicle buying. The next thing to do is to build more and improve the old metro and train lanes, this will provide raise in metro and train usage in all countries. To add to this, small countries and towns there are no metro can offer to their citizens to get on bycicles. Everything we need to do is invest in bycicle lanes and maybe it is reasonable to pay for bike usage. Then person gets to the place by bike, he receives money for it. To conclude, presently we have to fight with non-endable car usage. It has become huge problem nowadays, which takes our time. Governments can help us with that by building new public transport lanes, encouraging people to ride on bycicles and giving money for that.