Some people choose a career, according to the social status and salary it will give them. Others choose a career, according to whether they will enjoy the work. Which do you think is the best way to choose a career? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Deciding on a career path sets the tone for the life you want to live. Some people choose a career that provides wealth and social status while others pick a job where they enjoy working at. Either way, a person must decide which is more important. This essay will discuss my thoughts as to why I think an individual could choose either. To begin, people love money as it could buy things you could only dream of. Many set out to make that dream a reality and so, choose a career that can provide those kinds of wishes. For instance, a high-paying job could pay for a house, that could fit an entire stadium, designer bags and German cars. Additionally, it also comes with social status with that, you could enter the most exclusive social circles. These perks might be the reason why someone would choose a job they hate for the benefits it could provide. On the other hand, I see why someone would choose to work at a job they enjoy as many would not endure a career they despise, hence the choice in choosing a career that brings them happiness instead even if the pay isn't great. Despite this choice, their quality of work would improve. A study has shown that people who love their job have a lower risk of depression. For example, dentists have a high depression rate as many choose this field because of the salary. To conclude, I believe that a person should establish what matters most to them and so I agree that this is the best method in picking a career.