Many businesses think that the new employees who graduate from schools lack basic interpersonal skills, such as working with colleagues as a team. What has caused this and what are solutions to the problems?

Nowadays many people lack interpersonal qualities such as team spirit and communication skills. This is due to our education system and the selection of criteria for a job. This essay will elaborate on its causes and discuss some solutions to solve this problem. One of the first problems that should be considered, the major reason for the lack of interpersonal skills is our education system. These days most schools emphasise academic subjects. The success of pupils is measured by how much they are good in their studies. Moreover, employers also give preference to the topper scholars, who get good grades in subjects. For instance, last week, At my university a web-based company came to hire an employee. Firstly, they shortlisted topper pupils of the University and then they conducted an interview with those scholars. A possible solution to this problem would be, firstly, an academic institute should change its marking criteria. They should encourage students to participate in sports. There should be grades for participating in extra co-curricular activities. For instance, In the KMV schools initiate a step in which the participation of every student is compulsory. Otherwise, they will fail in all subjects. This really enhances interpersonal qualities in pupils. Furthermore, employer when hiring an employee he should also focus on interpersonal skills. It will be beneficial for the company. To conclude, these days people lack communication skills and team spirit. Its main reason is our academic grading system and this problem can be solved by including extra co-curricular activities in the syllabus.