Some countries spend a lot of money to make bicycle usage easier. Why is this? Is this the best solution to traffic congestion.

Presently, spending financial resources to facilitate pedalling has become a growing trend. While some environmentalists hold the view that relying on bicycles is the best way to tackle traffic jams, others have a diverse perspective. However, I am of the stance that although cycling is advantageous for a number of reasons, it cannot be the panacea for traffic gridlocks. In the following lines, the previously-mentioned points will be thoroughly elaborated. To embark on, biking has a plethora of merits when it comes to the environment, economy, and public health. In other words, when workers cycle to work, they will reduce carbon dioxide emissions, lessen their financial burden, and exercise physically. For example, the Netherlands, is renowned for its cycling schemes and most of its cities are bike-friendly; as a result, Dutch citizens do not complain about atmospheric pollution and incur heavy transportation costs, and they lead a healthy lifestyle. Thus, what can be inferred is that placing our reliance on bicycles not only improves air quality, but also enhances one’s economic and physical conditions. Nevertheless, despite the positive impacts cycling promises, introducing a reliable communal transportation network is argued to be the most reasonable course of action. If travellers use buses and trains rather than their private vehicles, the number of cars will be decreased dramatically. For instance, Canada has a profound public transportation system that breadwinners rely on for commuting; as a consequence, Canadian metropolitan areas do not suffer from crowded roads. Hence, what can be deduced is that a shard transport service is ideal for ameliorating roadblocks. In conclusion, after this essay has manifested the aforementioned points, it can be reiterated that cycling cannot be regarded as a better substitute for transportation services offered by governments. In my view, concerned bodies and entities should initiate new projects to entice the public to use bus and train networks.