In major cities around the world, traffic congestion has become a serious problem. How can this problem be tackled? Give reasons and examples from your own experience

Cities worldwide are tackling the challenge of busy roads caused by traffic jams. Both the Government and the community play a major role in eliminating this issue. Some of the solutions are, first, improving public transport services and secondly, increasing tax on automobiles. Today, nearly 9 in 10 people own a car and drive to work. Hence, the number of vehicles in main towns all over the world is experiencing traffic problems. This is because many people have poor bus or train services in their areas. To solve this puzzle, the government must improve the frequency of busses to and from the CBD. For example, instead of the trains running every half an hour gaps, the government should impose a rule that people can only wait for 10 minutes for the next train. This way, more and more people will be encouraged to travel by trains or buses rather than driving their own cars. Secondly, the government could impose a high tax on cars. Those who choose to use their cars for personal use and commuting should be required to pay tolls and taxes every time there on the road. As a result, most people will avoid owning a car and stick to other modes of commuting. To illustrate this, public transport fares can be reduced to as low as $3 dollars to invite more people. This is another best way to control the number of cars on roads, because residents will decide not buy cars because using the bus is cheaper. In conclusion, the major problem of traffic jams being experienced around the world is caused by an increase of cars that families own. However, two solutions have been suggested to minimise the problem. These are, making public transport better and increasing taxes on cars.