Some people believe that watching TV and playing computer games should be limited and substituted by reading books. Do you agree or disagree? Give your opinion.

In today's rapid age of modernization, thanks to the advance in technology, individuals tend to spend a significant amount of their time surfing the internet on their electronic devices, particularly youngsters. Many people have reservations about this behaviour and suggest that those citizens should opt for reading when it comes to recreational activities. In this essay, I will elaborate on the reasons why I partly agree with this statement and propose my opinion on this topic Firstly regarding mental health, due to the development of the social platforms, individuals can access a range of entertainment channels which can contain toxic content like adult-related or violent scenes. However, it is a struggle to separate the useful channels from highly uneducational ones that can result in negative impacts on their viewers. To illustrate, as for some articles published on daily news, there is an increase in the number of murder cases in which the criminal was the juvenile who found himself obsessed with bloody games he played online. Secondly, since technology has become an integral part of modern life while all essential tasks can be implemented by electric gadgets, watching on the screen for a long time can have a detrimental effect on our eyes. Therefore, entertainment time using smartphones or computers should be limited to around one or two hours a day to ensure our optimal health. In addition, there are several why reading should be high on the agenda in terms of relaxing. To begin with, parents can decide on the types of books for their kids with educational content. Besides, reading is proven to boost our brain function and improve our memory. In brief, it seems to me that the benefits of books outweigh the temptation of smart devices. Parents should have a tight schedule in which their youngsters can use technology for specific purposes instead of watching videos and playing games only.