Some university students want to learn about other subjects in addition to their main subjects . Others believe it is more important to give all their time and attention to studying for a qualification. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

One of the most hotly-debated issues facing today’s competitive world is whether specializing in more than one area during university education is more beneficial to students or whether they should spend all their university education time mastering one class. Personally, I agree with the first perspective for the reasons mentioned below. This essay will examine both views followed by a reiteration of my personal point of view. On the one hand, there are those who argue that students would benefit greatly in the future from putting their efforts into learning one higher education discipline compared to being distracted while trying to study multiple topics. The proponents of this view claim that once students focus on training only one university subject, they would be considered professionals in that subject. This would lead to having higher chances of getting employed in the field of studies. Furthermore, focusing on more than one area would only confuse them and by the time they graduate, they would not have a concrete ambition, which is essential for a stable and progressive career path. On the other hand, however, are those who contend that studying more than one higher education area would positively contribute to the career path of university students resulting in various job opportunities after graduation. Owing to the extremely competitive corporate world, finding a job is more challenging compared to a decade ago. The advocates of this view often point to numerous surveys of various academic institutions, the latest of which is published by the University of Toronto concluding that 72% of recent educational institution graduates, who chose to study a variety of topics rather than focusing on one, found more employment opportunities. Moreover, these students could find their passion by gaining an understanding of multiple disciplines resulting in a more fulfilling work life. In conclusion, while some believe that studying one topic at the university is more valuable given the fact that it would allow students to master one area and not be confused with different areas of study, I tend to concur with those who argue that studying more than one field during university education is better since it would bring about more job opportunities after graduation.