In recent years, many small shop have closed because customer travel to large shopping malls. is this a positive or negative development.

Nowadays people prefer to buy in larger shops than in small stores, so a lot of small bussineses have been closed recently. Both larger and smaller shops have pros and cons. Larger malls usually have more shops with different types of products, but also more different brands and better prices sometimes while small shops usually can not offer variety of different brands and that good prices. Also, malls can offer some entertaiment activities eg playrooms for kids, so it is very suitable for busy parents. On the other hand, large stores are very often distanced from residential areas, so people have to travel longer to get there, also since they have plenty to offer it is harder to make a choice, so customers spend more time and money in there. However, small stores are usually owned by local people, so supporting them we are supporting local economy, instead large commercial chains. Closing that kind of bussines can affect local community, so I think this is negative development. In conclusion, both types of stores have good and bad sides, but small scale bussinesses are important for local communities, so closing those kind of stores is negative development.