Small businesses should avoid recruiting young women who do not have their own family in order to avoid paying maternity leave later on. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

According to some people, small businesses should not hire young women who are yet to have babies so as to prevent them from claiming maternity leave in the future. I firmly disagree. This is unfair to young women who want to be independent and is against the concept of equal opportunity for all. A good reason to disagree with the idea of not recruiting young women is that it is against the fundamental principle of equality. People regardless of their gender and family background ought to have equal employment opportunities. Gender biases in the recruiting process will push society backwards. One of the reasons that prevent women from starting a family is financial liabilities. They need a job to be able to stand on their own feet and provide for their kids. By choosing not to hire childless young women, employers are denying them the opportunity to earn and become independent. Not hiring young women will be a great loss to the company. Many independent, talented young women, particularly in big cities, prefer to live alone and focus on their careers. However, at some point in their lives, they want to start a family and later continue following their passion for work. Refusing to hire these talented, focused women would be a huge loss for the business. In conclusion, I disagree with the idea of not employing young women just because they do not have their own families and might need maternity benefits later on.