The percentage of overweight children in western society has increased by almost 20% in the last ten years.Discuss the causes and effects of this disturbing trend?

A growing number of children in Western countries have been suffering from obesity over the few years in many Western societies. The major reason behind it is the sedentary lifestyle they are having currently, but there are other explanations as well. In this,essay I will examine all the causes concerning the event. Apparently, children are being more inclined towards junk foods such as ready meals, baked goods and processed meats can have negative health effects. For example, consumption of heavily processed food can cause weight gain, increase the risk of type-2 diabetes. Secondly, parents now are having a busy schedule of work and other things. Therefore, they are unable to make fresh food for their little ones daily and opt-out for ready meals or takeouts from restaurants. Which is a lack of nutrition and high in calories. Moreover, there are some other forces that influence body weight -genes such as parental and early life influences, too much television watching, too little physical activity and disturbed sleep routine. Similarly, genetic factors can increase the likelihood that a child will have obesity. Studies have shown various genes may contribute to the weight put on. It is worth mentioning point that advertising for fast food chains and healthy snack foods can also lead to obesity. Children see commercials on TV and advertisements splashing across billboards in their surroundings may tempt them more towards it. In conclusion, I would say that being overweight can hinder the life of a scion. Therefore it is necessary to take action to prevent it.