Many university students want to learn about different subjects in addition to their main subjects. Others feel it is more important to give all their time and attention to studying for their qualification. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Many students have different thoughts about the lessons they are studying at the university, such as some students think it is better to focus on the major subjects, others believe additional subjects should be taught. In my opinion, at the universities, teachers should teach various additional subjects. People who think students should give all attention to studying only main subjects often argue that unrelated lessons cause time waste and it has a negative effect on specialization. They think additional lessons are potential distractions and they do not have play any role in their future career. These people claim that for achieving successful career, the most logical pathway is preparing diligently for specializing in one profession. For example, it is boring for every economics student to take the lessons about health care or other unrelated topics which can waste their time and can affect their final exam scores. Despite the understandable reasons why some people are in favor of focusing on major subjects, I believe taking the lessons of additional subjects have different advantages. These lessons can help students in different aspects of their future career and make them more skillful people. I, however, believe that specialization is not enough for being successful in all fields, also workers have to be knowledgeable about different topics. Because most of the sectors are related to each other and additional lessons can create students’ different opportunities, such as creativity. Although I accept these lessons can steal the time of students which they can spend to major topics, I believe university superiors and teachers can solve this problem. For example, universities can give chance to students to choose these additional subjects based on their own interests and do not take a final exam. In conclusion, while there are some reasonable reasons why some students do not want to take various additional classes, I believe these subjects are very important and they do not have to see them as a time waste.