Learning english at school is often seen as more important than learning local languages. if these are not taught, many are at risk of dying out. in your opinon, is it important for everyone to learn english? should we try to ensure the survival of local languages and, if so, how?

There is no doubt that learning English is important; however, I argue that we should try to pass down the local languages too to prevent them from disappearing. From my point of view, learning English is definitely important and could not be ignored since it is a global language that almost every human in the world knows how to speak. First and foremost, if people could speak English while traveling, it is sure that the trip could be smoother because there will be no obstacles between the conversation with the local people; therefore, it gives you an open door to the world and helps you communicate with local people. Secondly, lots of movie shows, books, or music are published and produced in English, so if you are interested in these kinds of entertainments, you don’t have to rely on the translations but could explore the original meaning of themselves. Furthermore, because there are lots of resources online that were written in English, so if you understand English, you will be able to get access to them easily. However, besides from learning English, it is also important to value the importance of local languages, which are deeply bonded to local cultures. In other words, if local language vanished, then local cultures would also disappear. Therefore, governments of each country should apply themselves to protect the local language and implement relative policies, such as schools should hold courses that lecture local languages and ask the students to attend to the classes. Moreover, by combining local languages with trends that young citizens adore could also raise their interest, which creates free promotions since youngers love to share their stories on social media. To sum up, English is indeed an indispensable tool for people to broaden their horizons. However, it is also essential that local people know how to speak their language, since local cultures might die out simultaneously with it. Therefore, it is one of the governments priorities to save local language.