Some people believe that the activities of large multinational corporations mostly benefit the economies of developing countries. Other people take the opposite view and feel that these large multinationals are generally harmful. Discuss both views and give your opinion

Every multinational giant wants to spread their wings in emerging nations to increase their market share. Some individuals believe that it is beneficial. Whereas others feel that it could have devastating effects on the local economy. I completely agree with the latter statement and this essay will explain both sides with examples. The main intention of any multinational company is to enhance its products' reach. They expand their branches in developing nations which helps them to constantly increase their consumer base, leading to gain more profitability. Hindustan Unilever, for example, is running its operations in India with a vast range of popular brands such as Lux, Surf Excel, Dove and many others. These countless choices have made Indian citizens spend more money on their daily shopping which has resulted in economic growth. However, it has a limited scope and more harm to the local economy. Many individuals feel that these large corporations could affect local micro and small businesses. It is very convenient for well-known brands to spend huge amounts of money on marketing. It snatches away customers from domestic companies. The incorporation of Amazon in India, for instance, has badly impacted shop owners as customers find it easy to buy online rather than in offline stores. As a result, it has narrowed the growth opportunities for regional business owners and, eventually could hamper the economy. To summarize, it is undoubtedly proven that big international companies help customers with more choices. Also, it could have a high probability of shutting down innumerable local businesses. In my perspective, the government should introduce strict corporate policies like enforcing hefty taxes on these organisations and using this money to nurture small and micro-entrepreneurs.