Some people think that schools should reward students who show the best academic results, while others believe that it is more important to reward students who show improvements.

Students are hard-working folks who try their best to improve themselves, so it is only reasonable that they are rewarded for their efforts. However, it is how schools decide to spend their budget on this matter that is debatable. Whether they should spend their resources on students that are making progress or students that have actually achieved something, we are going to discuss both views and give a firm opinion about this. Achievers will be the only one benefiting if schools choose the latter strategy. Giving rewards is a way of showing appreciation to someone. It is clearly reasonable to reward students who actually achieved, but it is still unfair for those who also strive for improvement everyday. Furthermore, the number of students that actually manage to succeed in achieving is not great, hence only a few actually benefit from this. Only achievers will be lifted, supported and loved, and the vast majority will sink into the deep sea of despair. This strategy clarifies the dark side of most school systems: you are only praised when you are good, but no one cares if you try your best to improve without achievements. The other strategy, however, is more logical. We define “strivers” as someone who devotes themselves to do something. This term is undeniably wider than the term “achievers”. This includes those who spend most of their time behaving well and doing their best to actually achieve, which logically includes “achievers”. With this strategy, none will be left behind, beside slackers, of course. It is a better way to reward students, both those with high effort put into their work and those with actual achievements while also snapping lazy folks back to reality. It does seem to cost more, but it is truly worth it. I don’t think schools mind paying more to make everyone’s school lives better. After all, it all leads to a better society where students get less depressed, where students have fun studying, where students consider schools their house, and where everyone strives for a better community. In conclusion, it is highly recommended that schools adapt the strategy of rewarding students who strive for the better, and not only the “achievers” mentioned in the second paragraph. Regardless of any rewarding system, I sincerely hope that students in this day and age will not suffer from any kind of mental illness and continue to improve themselves for the better.