The development of tourism contributed to English becoming the most prominent language in the world. Some people think this will lead to English becoming the only language to be spoken globally. What are the advantages and disadvantages to having one language in the world?

English is an international language. The importance of the English language is so high. People learn English when they travel abroad to see the beautiful scenery and culture of that country. Visitors do not know that country's mother tongue; with the help of English, they communicate with each other. Most of the tourist sights and tourists are from European countries. Therefore, the English language spreads all over the world. Nowadays, almost every country is familiar with the English language. The following paragraphs contain the merits and demerits of the English language if it is spoken globally. On the one hand, English is a modern language, and almost everywhere in the world, it is spoken properly. Moreover, it is the demand of the present era because every university and college is demanding that students learn English. Furthermore, travellers increase the value of English because they are travelling worldwide to spend their leisure time and use English as a common language for communication. If English is spoken worldwide, it will be very easy to communicate with people in all countries without any misunderstanding. On the other hand, every country has its own language. Their languages represent their culture and sense of belonging. If every person speaks English, they cannot speak fluently and cannot convey their point with emotion. People love their native languages. It is not easy to learn English for everyone because it is difficult to understand. To conclude, English is the most spoken language nowadays, and it is compulsory for students to take admitted to highly ranked universities across the border. Sightseers play a vital role in promoting English internationally. However, every country has its own mother tongue, and people respect their languages. Hence, we say that English's benefits are outweighed by its drawbacks.