Many countries have compulsory military service for young men after they leave school. It would be a good idea for all countries to adopt this system for men, and possibly for women too. Do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

Many people argue that it is mandatory for young men to serve in the military after graduating from high schools, which is considered a good point for both men and women to adopt this system in all countries. From my perspective, I do not agree with this statement and this essay will shed light on my opinion. It is undisputed that military service is a great choice for both genders to learn discipline and independence. It also trains their physical health and prepares them for protecting their nations. But making military service obligatory seems like a drastic step. Moreover, joining the military is each individual’s right to make their decision and voluntary is always more effective than mandatory. The young generation should not be forced into the military if they don’t have intrinsic motivation. As a case in point, one might dream of studying medicine, and someone else wants to start a business early. Furthermore, not everyone has the same desires in life and their choices should be respected. Instead of choosing to protect the country, males and females can help the national economy thrive. Obviously, the government and country also are positively affected by this decision. When young people have a favorable opportunity to concern themselves with their careers, they would lift the economy of the nations. For instance, countries that do not apply obligatory military service, such as the US, have significant economic development compared with other countries. In conclusion, I believe that encouraging young people to freely join military service to promote the positive aspects of the military is a better option. No individual should be forced into a sector they don't want to be a part of.