Many companies and organisations require their employees to wear uniform. What kind of jobs require uniforms? What are the disadvantages of wearing uniform to work?

There are several reasons for commercial institutions and organisations to require workers wearing uniforms, whilst some are for professoinilism, the others are for functional purpose. On top of that, uniforms could also be applied on certain jobs which require special equipment for safety reason, such as firefighters and nurses. Regardless all the advantages, there are some downside derived from wearing uniform, including a high costs for company or organisations to provide uniforms, along with it, misbehaviour conduct by individual who wear uniform could foster a negative reputation to that company or organisation. First of all, it is common to see workers wearing uniform in hospitality industries, it is not only to reduce personal feature to make individuals as the whole, but also for customers to locate staffs easily when they need assistant, such as in hotels, employees wear different uniforms based on their job duties for visitors knowing who to approch to address certain problems. Secondly, some uniforms could protect workers from serious injure, for instance, firefigher firefighter need to wear fireproof uniforms along with other kits, including oxgen suppliers; and gloves, to keep their body functional in extrem environment. Despite wearing uniforms provoke many positive affects, there are some drawbacks should not be overlooked, including a high costs for institutions to provide uniforms, which could be used to improve the facilities to provide better services for customers. Moreover, the behaviour of individuals who wear uniform could influence the reputation of the companies they work for, especially when they conduct misbehaviour. Therefore, the majority of commercial institutions and organisation nowadays require their employees to take off their uniforms when they are off duty, and stop them from posting photo with uniform on personal social media. To summarise, workers in certain industries are required to wear uniform for different purposes, while some wearing uniform to look more professional and trust worthy, the others are to ensure the safety in dangerous workplace. Eventhough many employers in favour of making their workers to wear uniform, there are some downside derived from such trends, including a tidy sum of money for making uniforms, along with it, the reputatoin of company might be in risk due to misbehaviour of individuals.