Fresh water has always been a limited resouces in some parts of the world. Today, however, growing worldwide demand has made this a global problem. What are the causes of the growing demand? What measures could governments and individuals take to this problem?

It is true that an increasing requirement for the water resource is becoming a serious problem has been observed in many parts of the world. This essay is mainly concerned with analysing the causes of this problem and coming up with solutions. On the one hand, there are two main reasons behind the growing demands for these valuable water resources.The first reason is that with the development of technology, there are an increasing number of factories,buildings and rubbish fill land built at present years. However, the most of them will let out detrimental emission to the river,lake and sea. As a consequence, the society need to face more and more serious water pollution and also it is a threat to citizens’ health. In addition,the rapid increase of population accounts for water resource shortage. For instance, every person uses average use 300-480 kilograms of water every day.It would be no exaggeration to say that there are over 80 million people in the earth nowadays,so a lot of water is used every day.But the fresh water resource is not limitless,so one day in the future there will be no water and also some regions are lacked of water now. As a consequence,they are suffering from drought and famine, especially in Africa and the centre of China. On the other hand, there are many measures that governments can take to solve the problem mentioned above. The first measure is that governments ought to set a series of policies and laws about protecting water in order to force large companies and factories to follow them. Apart from it,rising the people’s awareness of saving water is the responsibility of governments.They can raise it by internet,school and many other ways.Another strategy is that individuals learn about how to form the habits of saving water in their daily lives. For example,they need to turn off water faucet when they leave their homes and recycle water as possible as they can. In conclusion, there are two main causes about the shortage of fresh water resource, which are population and detrimental emission. The solutions to these problems are to set some laws or polices, raise the people’s awareness of protecting water and to cultivate a habit about saving water among all members in society.