nternational tourism has brought enormous benefit to many places. At the same time, there is concern about its impact on local inhabitants and the environment. Do the disadvantages of international tourism outweigh the advantages?

In the post-pandemic era, foreign tourism is more popular throughout the earth, therefore the tourism sector is being revived and growing. While foreign travelling has provided many benefits for travel countries, it has a lot of adverse influences on the local environment and people. Undoubtedly, international tourism boosts countries' economies. International tourism receipts become a vital source of a few countries' incomes because the tourism industry not only stimulates the growth in foreign exchange earnings but also offers more job opportunities. For instance, Maldives has a prosperous travel industry, providing around 100 resorts for global travellers. In information from The World Bank, tourism in Maldives accounted for nearly a third of GDP in 2020. In addition, a higher proportion of the jobs provided by tourism was roughly 40 per cent. According to the above data, tourism is the backbone of the economy in Maldives. Despite global tourism strengthening the regional economy, it creates negative impacts on the local surrounding and natives. For local surroundings, the more tourists, the more pollution is caused. For example, travellers use transportation (airports, buses, and so on) to travel, increasing exhaust emissions and carbon dioxide emissions. It aggravates air pollution. For natives, It’s true that tourism generates a lot of employment. However, these jobs often are low paying and seasonal, such as waiter, cleaner, and vendor. Most of the local people’s quality of employment doesn't have a full guarantee. In conclusion, notwithstanding International travelling brings a variety of merits to the country's economy. It has issues of pollution and quality of employment, then needs to face up and be dealt with.