Influence of human beings on the world's ecosystem is leading to the extinction of species and loss of bio-diversity. What are the primary causes of loss of bio-diversity? What solutions can you suggest?

It is widely accepted that due to mankind's activities, the ecosystem is now upset in comparison with the past. This trend has led to the loss of natural habitat for many life forms and as a result a sharp decrease or even extinction of a great number of rare species. Obviously, there are many important factors behind this. However, in spite of the importance of such an issue, I am of the opinion this is not insurmountable. To begin with, the fact that deforestation can be considered one of the most indispensable causes of the loss of biodiversity cannot be denied. Governments as well as individuals attempt to develop urban areas because of population explosion. This means that they have to construct new roads in order to link major cities which are close to the natural habitat of many species. Apart from that, many local communities tend to build new compulsory hotels in the regions that earn a reputation for having unspoilt environments. This unchecked trend will undoubtedly result in cutting down trees and deforestation of many dense forests which are crucial for the survival of animals. For example, in Iran, as a result of the growing figure of tourists in the northern parts of the country, the local councils have built many impulsive buildings in conjunction with huge shopping malls and 5-star hotels next to the mountains covered by lush green area in order to attract more visitors come to their city. Accordingly, on the basis of the latest statistics, the sum of Persian Leopards,as a case in point, is declining noticeably in recent years. Nevertheless, the aforementioned issue is not insolvable providing that effective actions are taken. Firstly, governments should impose strict rules and regulations to stop logging and poaching from happening in such natural areas as well as destructive actions such as fireworks and building a house in the jungle. Secondly, authorities with the support of environmental activists, are responsible to run nationwide campaigns in order to make society aware of the dire consequences the failure of vegetation and animals could bring to citizens. In other words, Should the relevant knowledge of the local community is enhanced, they will avoid some undesirable habits that they were accustomed to. For instance, the latest research in Spain has demonstrated that the main reason why people preserve their nature and local species has its roots in an adequate educational programme in both schools and the public. To sum up, although the loss of biodiversity can be determined as a grave problem because of either deforestation or globalisation in rural areas, I firmly believe that it could be resolved only if governments take responsibility to prioritise environmental issues in their long-term strategies.