Today the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not real needs of the society in which they are sold To what extend do you agree?

Nowadays people believe that the high sales of common consumer products refer to the strength of publicity and not the necessary needs of the society in which they are sold. I partially agree with this statement and discuss the reasons in the following paragraphs with relevant examples. To begin with, in the present time role of advertising is essential due to knowing about the development of technologies. In other words, advertising encourages to be aware of new featured goods which some people may need. For instance, new devices for households such as vacuum cleaners with artificial intelligence or new washing machine which can clean faster consuming less water. Individuals would not be aware if there did not be advertisements. So as a result, individuals will know about that product and their features through advertisements. However, there are opinions that some consumer products are considered to be useless and only popular due to advertising. On some occasions, individuals make more focus on marketing and not products' quantity and usefulness for people. For example, weight loss products which absence is not as important as it said in advertisements. In some cases, it can be more harmful than it is thought and cause financial issues. Some people start to overuse such goods for weight loss, hoping they will lose in future. For that reason, sometimes advertising can cause negative effects on humans. To conclude, some individuals believe that commercial products have a crucial role in being aware of new technology gadgets or other helpful things. But others thought some unnecessary products are popular due to good marketing services. In my opinion, there are positive and negative sides to advertising and it is difficult to stay just on one side.