All over the world, societies are facing a growing problem with obesity. This problem affects both children and adults. What are the reasons for this rise in obesity? How could it be tackled?

In recent years, obesity has received more and more media attention around the world due to its substantial impacts on human life. Not only does this problem affect children, but it also impacts grown up people. I personally believe that only when people exercise and eat healthy food, both of which are equally important for maintaining health, could this challenging issue be tackled. The reasons as to an increase of obesity have been identified in this essay as well as how they can be overcome. One of the main causes of obesity is eating unhealthy food, for instance junk food, takeaways and ready-made meals, as well as lack of fresh fruit and vegetables in the diet, which can be detrimental to health. This problem can only be solved if the government ensures that healthy food is more affordable as often poorer people can only afford unhealthy food, and the same is true of fresh fruits and vegetables which are extremely expensive. Additionally, schools and companies should both offer only healthy eating options in the canteen. Moreover, the government can make public education films informing and helping the general public to follow a healthier, more active lifestyle and making them aware of the risks of an unhealthy diet. Another reason for the rise of obesity in recent years is the lack of doing physical sport. For instance, many people drive everywhere instead of walking regardless of the distance. As a solution to this, the government should build better sports facilities in schools and the pupils could be educated on this issue and be encouraged to do more sports. What is more, companies could reward employees for following healthy lifestyle patterns and doing something more active, for example cycling to work. In summary, in my viewpoint, this phenomenon, which is terribly challenging in the world today could only be prevented if people eat healthy food, and do regular physical exercise which are both essential for good health. Similarly, the government should do its part by providing better sports facilities in schools and informing the general population about the health risks associated with obesity.