Some pepole say that teenagers should work part-time and earn money. This way they will learn basic lessons about work and become disciplined. Others argue that teenagers should not sacrifice their rest and after-school activities to work. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There are several impactful activities that teenagers could do in order to fill their free time, likewise working as part-time workers or resting at home. Although it will be tiring and take their time to study, I agree that in order to gain basic value and discipline lessons, adolescents should take part-time jobs. On the one hand, working in adolescence will hinder them from having more individual study sessions. It has a major drawback, which they could not concentrate, and their performance will decrease. Moreover, emotional maturity in their age group has not yet firmified. They have a tendency to experience a high level of stress as they ought to not only prioritise their education but also prepare their future. Therefore, the workflow in part-time jobs will prevent them from gaining more knowledge and widening their capacity in learning, which can thus lead to burnout and decrease their mental health. On the other hand, most people believe that there are many multifarious benefits for students to have a part-time job. The first and foremost is that as their lifespan increases, they have to fulfil their entertainment needs, likewise with a laptop, mobile phone, or concert ticket. Instead of being fully dependent on their parents to get those things, they choose to work and try to be responsible for their academic live. For example, during summer holidays, many students will work part-time jobs while preparing their applications to universities. In addition, their emotional maturity will increase as they face difficulties and tackle those on their own. Consequently, they have the life skills that are required of to be young adults and are well-prepared to face their university years. In conclusion, even though working part-time jobs could hinder adolescents’ performance in academic life, it enables them to gain valuable life lessons such as discipline and responsibility. I remain firmly convinved that the negative trend could be tackled by managing their time and workflow.