Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

A lot of food and drink products which contain high levels of sugar are on sale at markets. We all know these sugary commodities can influence our health in a bad way. Some people say that those sweets should be more expensive, since higher prices would discourage society from buying those items. In the short term, It might be effective, but it would not be a long term strategy. I want to take my morning routine as an example. I usually take out a cup of fruit juice every morning on the way to work. Let’s assume that the price doubles up from 5 to 10 bucks. If you ask me what to do with it, I will probably hesitate to grab it for some weeks. However, I think people including myself are going to get used to the changed price sooner or later and start to buy it again. For me, I’m willing to pay more since I realize that my happiness costs more than 5 dollars. For others, It can be because of personal taste, memories from childhood, or some practical reasons. For these reasons, I’m against the idea of raising prices just to shorten the consumption. This essay will state more specifically why I think higher pricing is not an optimal resort. To begin with, I want to mention ‘personal satisfaction’. There are always set menus which consist of the main menu, fries, and a coke in fast food restaurants. If a coke, which is one of the representatives of sugary drinks, is abnormally expensive, do people consume less? I personally don’t think so. Even though the coke is getting pricey, people who eat burgers or pizzas would take it together. I, likewise, will decide to pay more since my meal wouldn’t be fully satisfying except for coke Additionally, sugary products bring back my precious memories of my childhood. When I was an elementary student, I always bought a crunched chocolate bar after school with one of my best friends. We usually split it into two pieces and share them on the way home. We used to talk a lot, and also laugh a lot eating those chocolates together. Naturally whenever I see this certain chocolate, I feel a sense of Nostalgia of that happy time period. This is my secondary reason that I can spend more money. Moreover, sugary items are not always bad for our health. Practically it can be a decent energy source when people get exhausted or stressed. One piece of chocolate or a candy would help the metabolism system and make folks get extra energy to carry on whatever they must do. To sum up, people eventually get used to the higher price and they are willing to spend more for some reasons such as personal contentment, nostalgia and boosting more energy. Therefore, raising prices can’t be a proper method to lessen the consumption.