Some people say history is one the most important school subjects. Other people think that, in today’s world, subjects like science and technology are more important than history. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Whether history is an essential subject to be taught in schools or not is the title of many debates. However, some people believe that there are some more crucial subjects such as Science and Technology to be learned. In this essay, I will state both these points of view and mine. Many people would agree with the assertation that Science and Technology are more practical for children’s future careers in this evolving world. As can be seen, the form of literacy has changed since the 21st century with the fast pace of technological and scientific development. Therefore, if someone does not know anything about updated information they will be back behind peers in their careers. For example, after devising artificial intelligence, the requirement involving computers has increased in many jobs. Thus, if a young adult did not learn how to program in his late school years, it would be difficult for him to be hired in rewarding jobs. Although scientific and technological knowledge is more useful in the modern world, learning history simultaneously should not be forgotten. It is a widespread need for every nation to be aware of its historical background since it has a pivotal role to implement in present policies. For instance, if France’s politicians had been informed thoroughly since their school period of the previous kings and the events which were happening during their kingdoms, they would have been able to prevent the latest revolution from happening by just performing partial actions in their policies. In conclusion, all the aforementioned points indicate that learning history is vital to avert many repetitive challenges from happening again. However, in my point of view, science and technology are integral parts of our lives in the modern world and they should be paid more attention.