In some places, money earned from tourism has become an important part of the national economy. What are the advantages and disadvantages of relying on tourism as a major source of national revenue? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Tourism contributes a significant part of national income in some countries. There are both benefits and drawbacks for the over reliance on tourism. While tourism can speed up economical development in some countries, it is vulnerable to the economical and political changes in the neighboring countries. Firstly, tourism benefits the local economy. A rising number tourists results in an increasing demand for different services, such as hotels, catering and transportation. Hence, the local people can have more job opportunities. Moreover, local infrastructure can be significantly improved thanks to the rise in government income brought by tourism. For instance, Bali was a poor island but was transformed to a popular resort area contributing millions of dollars to the Indonesian government. However, tourism is prone to instabilities occurred in the global economic and political environment. To illustrate, the global economic decline in 2008 led to a decrease in peoples’ income, particularly in western developed countries. They were not willing to spend money in overseas travelling. Another example is the outbreak of COVID-19 in 2020. The governments decided to lockdown their countries and resulted in a plummet in tourism. Over dependence on tourism as national income is not secure. To conclude, tourism has upsides and downsides for nations. Although tourism is beneficial to the economical progress in local communities, it is vulnerable to changes in other regions. The governments should be more careful when relying tourism as a major source of revenue.