34.Some people believe that schools should teach foreign languages for primary school children. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

It is of the opinion that primary school children should learn foreign languages as a compulsory subject at school. Although the disadvantages involved, I reckon that this approach is generally more favourable. On the one hand, it is argued that young students are likely to suffer more pressure when foreign languages are added to their educational program. This is because this approach adds more stress to their already burdensome amount of schoolwork. In fact, these children are often subjected to a hectic schedule with a mounting of homework and in-class assignments. Therefore, adding more subjects to their learning program can even hinder their ability to study effectively. For example, the Japanese Ministry of Education recently attempted to incorporate English into the national curriculum. This policy received strong objections from parents as they explained that their children were already stressed by the workload from other core subjects. On the other hand, I believe that learning a new language can bring numerous benefits to children. Firstly, they can be exposed to new and diverse cultures. As language is a defining characteristic of a nation's culture, students can subsequently acquire a deeper understanding of how citizens of different countries communicate with each other and how their society functions culturally. This exposure can lead to cultural tolerance and awareness from an early age. Secondly, acquiring a new language can assist in children's cognitive abilities. They can learn how to recognize complex patterns and employ them to make sense of the new knowledge they are acquiring. These skills can be significantly beneficial for a child's education as they serve to expand the thinking ability of the brain. In conclusion, although introducing foreign languages to the educational program can create a more stressful workload for young students, I firmly assert that the benefits of this approach are more significant. It offers children an insight into new foreign cultures and helps sharpen their cognitive skills, preparing for them an interconnected and culturally diverse world.