Some people feel that governments should take a large portion of people's salaries to pay for necessary public services such as roads and schools. Others feel that high taxes are a bad thing. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

A large part of the population holds the view that the government should invest a large portion of people's earnings in public services, but others might not agree with this view. I will be discussing both views and state my opinion on this matter. On the one hand, a large number of people, including me, consider that high customs is an awful idea. Firstly, high taxes hurt the poor. As a result of this, individuals do not have enough money to spend on basic needs such as food or clothing. Secondly, the citizens living in corrupt countries might not trust the government with their money. I think the governments should cut the spendings in certain areas and use them to pay for necessary public services. For instance, the US spends about 750 billion dollars on the military, which is fifty times more than any other country in the world. The money spent on military could be instead spent on the population. On the other hand, high taxes allow the country to build higher quality roads and schools. Undoubtedly, proper roads and education has an important role to play in our lives. Furthermore, tariffs allow education to be free of charge, which allows the less well-off acquire a basic education and get employed. For example, Norway offers these public services to the population. Hence, the poverty rate has declined. In conclusion, although high taxes do provide lots of benefits to the society, I think the government should instead reallocate their expenses on more important things, such as roads, schools and helping the poor.