Some people get into debt by buying things they don’t need and can’t afford. What are the reasons for this behaviour? What action can be taken to prevent people from having this problem?

Nowadays, some individuals have financial problems because they overuse their money by consuming goods that are useless for them. This essay will discuss the reasons behind this phenomenon and provide practical solutions to address the issue. People purchase consumptions that they do not need and get into debt because they lack basic knowledge of personal asset management. That is because the education system we have in the contemporary era only focuses on theoretical knowledge without providing basic tools for students to live their daily lives, leading to a sufficient sense of investment and saving after they grow up. Therefore, people tend to use every quarter in their pocket for consumption without considering their financial situations, and this can harm them in the long term as they need to work twice hard to pay back their debts and have no time for further developments in both personal and professional settings. For example, according to a survey about college graduates in China, the major problem of their school curriculums is the lack of basic finance and investment courses, which may prevent them from over- consumption after they graduate. To solve the problem, the general public, financial institutions and governments should act together in an endeavour. On an individual level, people can use the Internet to self-study related knowledge about asset management and proper consumption behaviours. In addition, banks and other financial authorities should publish more strict regulations to loan money to people for consumption, which can prevent people from over- consumption in the early stage. Finally, governments should restrict education systems by adding financial courses into curricula, teaching students from primary school, and developing their purchase hygiene gradually. For instance, the Japanese government forced all the elementary schools to set up a pocket money course in which students can learn about the different ways to use their money and the according results, which was highly commented by citizens. In conclusion, some people struggle with their consumption debts for useless things because they have insufficient knowledge about asset management and have no plan for their consumption in advance. All the individuals by learning financial knowledge, banks by setting strictly examining progress of loan, and governments by adjusting curriculums and adding consumption practices for students can help to address the issue.