Nowadays, some employers think that formal academic qualifications are more important than life experience or personal qualities when they look for new employees. Why is it the case? To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a controversial statement heating up a debate over the fact that some recruiters favour candidates who have formal credentials for study over those with only life experience or good personality traits in today's society. This essay will look at some causes of this and I personally do not have a consensus with this idea. Without a shadow of a doubt, academic degrees are valued more than life experience and character by some employers when they seek new staff. Because they believe that potential employees with an excellent qualification are equipped with in-depth knowledge and useful skills which play a crucial part in their future careers. For instance, some leading technology firms, namely FPT, Vingroup and so on, highly appreciate prospective workers who have Information Technology degrees or Internet Engineering certificates, therefore an improved quality of life for candidates who take them. Hence, taking academic background as a priority in recruit procedures exerts certain virtues. While the necessity of having a distinction degree is widely acknowledged, personalities and life experiences are vital for new hires as well. The majority of the skills needed for a job can be acquired through experience, which helps people deal with difficult situations more effectively. Take social and communication skills as two examples, these can be trained and practiced through experiencing ups and downs in life, so that it will make contributions to their jobs. Thus, it is detrimental to assess one’s working ability based merely on their academic performance. In conclusion, although academic qualifications can have certain values, it should not be regarded as the only and the most important factor to select the best workers.