Some parents believe that extra private lessons outside school hours, where students work alone with a teacher, can help them do better at school. Others disagree. What are the advantages and disadvantages of private tuition?

Parents are involved in their children’s educational process. Although some parents believe that private tuition can help students to perform better at school, others do not share this opinion. Each of these points of view has both advantages and disadvantages. One evident benefit to extra classes is that more efforts build stronger knoweladge. In other words, if a child spends more time on lessons, he or she has more chances to learn and remember new materials properly. Depending on my own experience, when I devote more time to studying, I learn things more consciosly, work on mistakes, absorb new information better. Another reason that additional classes would be advantageous is that a pupil would get a personalized approach. A teacher, as a proffesional, would find a way in which a student would gain information better. For instance, when I was getting ready for my economics exam and took private tuition, the teacher explained topics in the most comfortable for me way, using plenty of real-world examples. On the other hand, there are obvious disadvantages to lessons outside school hours. Firstly, with additional hours of studing, children would have no time to rest. Letting a kid’s brain to refresh and relax is as important educational step as constant learning. As it is written in a well-known article from Scientific American journal, human’s brain cannot acquire information efficiently without making any breaks. Secondly, it may result in losing interest of learning subject. When a pupil spends a lot of time studying one field, it becomes boring and exhausting. This happened to my brother when our mother decided to ask a teacher to study history alone with him. He could not stand learning history after having history lessons seven hours per week overall. To sum up, it is important to keep in mind both pros and cons of private tuition. While studying with private teacher would extand expand student’s knoweladge in personalized way, constant learning process would also lead to tiredness, losing satisfaction and tediuosness seriousness.