Some businesses now say that no one can smoke cigarettes in any of their offices. Some governments have banned smoking in all public places. This is a good idea but it also takes away some of our freedom. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons.

The question of whether cigarettes should be strictly regulated by cooperation and the government has long been debated. Some argue that such an approach invades people’s freedom. However, I personally support the government legislating relative laws and enforcing them on people who smoke. In this essay, I will elaborate more detail regarding the reasons why I advocate this method. To begin with, concerns are raised that such aggressive policy could consequently violate freedom which is the primary birthright of humanity. However, this is not the first time that some particular materials are banned, heroin and marijuana are two examples. Although, those drugs are utilized as medicines or medical necessities, conversely, they can negatively harm people’s well-being both physically and mentally. Similar to those, cigarettes are also proven detrimental to an individual’s health, causing cardiovascular disease and even lung cancers. In order to protect public health, the regulation of smoking is justified. On the other hand, freedom is based on the premise that not affecting others. However, researchers have proved that smoking not only impacts its user detrimentally, but so-called second-handed smoke also put the public in a dangerous position. In short, whoever inhales such smoke, their health is negatively affected. As a result, it is more common that smoking area is strict in certain places. In a nutshell, as a risky substance, cigarettes pose considerable health hazards to its inhaler, and other than its consumers are also impacted. And, this justifies the government’s legislation and regulation on such matters without violating people’s freedom. For this reason, I firmly recommend all institution to do the same.