In some schools and universities, girls tend to choose art subjects (e.g. literature), and boys tend to choose science subjects (e.g. physics). Why do you think this is so? Should this tendency be changed?

It is sometimes argued that at different educational levels, girls prefer to study art subjects, while boys prefer to study science majors. Although there are several reasons for that, I believe social stigma plays the main role in it, and we must help children to get over this stigma. There are a variety of reasons for the difference between boys and girls in their preferred area of study. Firstly, It should be noted that in our society, boys are more encouraged to follow science, whereas girls are expected to show interest in art. In addition, most teenagers and young adults are obsessed with society's acceptance, and it might, unconsciously, lead them to become the ones whom society expects them to be. Secondly, there is a social stigma about girls ' weakness in scientific areas, such as math, and artistic majors are still known as feminine ones, which might make boys think that they are not supposed to study them. This preference for a particular study area has many disadvantages for society. For instance, if Maryam Mirzakhani, a Persian winner of the Fields medal, was not interested in scientific majors, some mathematics problems would not have been solved. Having that in mind, we should consider that we are not able to change children's or students' willingness to study a specific major. However, we are able to change their way of thinking about themselves, by showing them successful people who have not followed this cliche. To conclude, I restate that, in my opinion, social stigma about gender differences is the main reason for the problem mentioned in the question, and I suggest that children and students should try to overcome it, and we should make some plans to facilitate that.