Many city centres these days have traffic flow problems, causing congestion and pollution. One solution is to build fast ring roads on the outskirts of a city, taking traffic away from the centre. While this is helpful in some ways, it also causes new problems. To what extent do yo agree or disagree?

Traffic problems are unquestionably one of the most prevalent and worrying aspects in any society and their management be taken seriously. Despite a few issues, including the high cost of building new roads, this desicion could definitely be a relief for citizens and bring more benefits for a wide range of drivers. On the one hand, establishing the highways is becoming more and more expensive nowadays, especially in huge cities, because of rising prices for appropriate building materials. It is known that, if the government wants to invest in developing of modern roads, a huge amount of finances should be spent. However lots of people reckon the country had better use this money to enhance some essential fields, such as medicine, education or childcare. Nevertheless, there are far more advantages of making the outskirts of a city to be a functional part of the transport system in order to improve its quality. On the other hand, I support that transferring the flow of cars far away from the city centre could have a significant impact on individuals’ life. Firstly, it would be appreciated by people, who are used to waste hours just sitting in traffic. Secondly, these changes would decrease a plenty of pollution, so that it could be eventually helpful not only for thousands of citizens, but also for natural environment. To conclude, despite varying opinions, I believe that the advantages of building new highways outskirts completely outweigh the relative disadvantages, so that this solution seems to be the best alternative to congested routes.