Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree

A company is a group of people who work together to achieve one core objective. Hence in the modern world employee employer relationship found as a vital factor for organizational growth. Therefore, employers tend to learn more about employees. Accordingly, obtaining the personal information of a potential employee is one of the practices followed by some employers. Some believe that information is beneficial, but some hold an opposite opinion in this regard. This essay agrees with the opinion because personal facts such as hobbies, interests, and marital status enable an employer to understand the thinking patterns, and responsibilities of a potential employee. Nevertheless, this essay disagrees with this practice as such content won’t have a direct influence on work performance and job competency. The personal facts demonstrate a picture of one’s personal characteristics. Further, marital status depicts the level of personal obligations. Hence, knowing such helps a company to gauge the attitudes and flexibility of a person to a greater extent. Furthermore, this information provides a pre-understanding of the suitability of a particular person to the company’s culture and job requirements. In my opinion, one’s attitude plays a bigger role than the skills and competencies. But the sad part is the ability to understand these parameters is limited through a direct interview without having a sufficient amount of personal data. On the other hand, looking for personal data could deviate from core objectives, because it has not proven that personal data has a direct link with work performance. The proven fact is that properly implemented systems and processes would drive employees towards achieving organizational goals irrespective of their personal background. Further, a set of questions related to personal facts could lead to an uncomfortable situation for a candidate too. Also, in the present context, one possible thing could be employees would provide developed answers to impress employer rather than the real info. As an example, I have come across similar answers from different candidates for some questions which are generally asked in an interview. Therefore, this could lead to misunderstanding. In conclusion, having personal data would provide light to understanding employee characteristics to have better relationships. Therefore, it is a good practice to continue this with. As everything has drawbacks this would also have merits and demerits. Hence, having a methodical way is the way forward.