Some people believe government should spend money on building train and subway lines to reduce traffic congestion. Others think that building more and wider roads is the better way to reduce traffic congestion. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some individuals believed that the government should invest more money in building of trains and subway systems, in order to reduce the rate of traffic jam, while others thought that construct more new and wider roads is a more effective way of reducing traffic congestion. In my opinion, build some new roads will help combat the rate of traffic jam and will discuss the advantages of building trains and subway, as well as the merits of building more and wider roads. Firstly, when trains and subways are made, they can help in reducing the number of people utilizing the roads. Consequently, reducing the rate at which there will be congestions on the highway. For instance, It has been observed that developed countries like the USA hardly suffer from such problems, this is because they have many railway systems which are being used effectively by the citizens, leading to few figures for people on the road. However in undeveloped countries like Nigeria, where there are very few numbers of available railway stations and train, many residents suffer on a daily basis, consuming more hours on the road. On the other hand, the introduction of railway systems will help to reduce the rate of congestion on the road. In fact, adding some new roads with wider space will be the best solution for tackling this road congestion problem, as this will help to curtail the rate at which traffic jam occurs in the whole country. Therefore, with a limited amount of space available on the roads, which accommodates fewer numbers of vehicles, there tends to be congestions on the road. As more and more motors try to force their way out, thereby leading to a disorganized road and more accidents occurrence. For instance, in places like Onitsha, Anambra state, where they only have small and narrow roads, it has been noticed that people spend about 4 hours on the road, on a journey that is not supposed to be more than 30-40 minutes. This is because their roads are so small to accommodate more people, thereby leading to the road being jam packed. When wider roads are built, there will be free movement of vehicles and fewer hours spent on the road, leading to a stress-free life for the citizens. In conclusion, while some suggest that railway systems should be built as this will help to reduce the number of people and vehicles on the road. In my view, if new and wider roads can be made, this will be the best solution to the reduction of traffic congestion.