Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now 'one big traffic jam'. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

Nowadays, it is becoming increasingly common for people to own cars. It can be shown as social status and achievement in life. However, over thirty years many cities become crowded with people that own cars. it becomes one big traffic jam. In fact, I agree with the statement and will examine the measures that government can take to discourage people from using cars. To begin with, the government can increase the fuel price for private cars. By increasing the fuel price, citizens can not buy fuel easily. Moreover, they will think twice to use their cars. It leads them to choose public transportation. For illustration, workers can use public transportation in order to decrease the expanse of transportation such as buses and taxis. As a result, air pollution can decrease. The next solution is to make the age limit for people that want to own a car. In this modern era, it is easier to people to buy a car. However, it increases the number of people that own cars drastically. This trend can make the traffic problem bigger. By giving the age limitation, the government can control the growth of people having cars. For instance, parents can not easily buy their children aged under 17 cars as a gift. Consequently, the purchase of the car can be controlled. To sum up, an increasing number of cars owner bring negative impacts such as traffic jams. In order to solve the problem, the government needs to take action. The government needs to increase the price of fuel and put an age limitation for people that want to own cars.