Some believe that more academic subjects such as chemistry, physics and history should be taught in schools, while others believe that students will derive more benefit from studying practical subjects, such as motor mechanics and cooking. Discuss both views and provide your own opinion with relevant examples.

It is sometimes argued that students pay more attention to academic subjects such as chemistry, physics and history at school. While some consider that they might gain more advantage from thepractical subject, namely art and cooking. In my opinion, educational institutions should strike a balance between them so that students can fully develop in all aspects. On the one hand, studying academic subjects is vital for students in many ways. Firstly, it provides them with fundamental knowledge for their higher education and career path. For example, they get more knowledge about nature and human body when they are taught biology lessons. Secondly, those who want to pursuit a career in medicine should have an excellent academic performance of science subjects such as mathematics, chemistry and biology so that they can pass the entrance exam. On the other hand, students should also be equipped with practical skills. For instance, when college students live far from family, the life skill such as cooking could be helpful since students will be able to prepare meals on their own instead of eating outside which can be costly and unhealthy. In conclusion, I suggest that students should be offered both academic and practical lessons at school because these subjects are equally important in their work and life.