Many people argue that restaurants should be required to disclose the nutritional information of the dishes they serve. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

It is often argued whether food companies should make their menu nutritional content known publicly or not. The paragraphs below will outline why the merits of this discussion outweigh the demerits. To begin with, one cogent reason why restaurants must inform the population about the components in their dishes is to facilitate food allergy customers to feel confident about finding an interesting option on the menu without necessarily asking the attendant to be safe. In this case, the description is essential for health purposes, as depending on the allergy it can be life-threatening. Moreover, another justification to explain why elaborating and displaying the nutritional information can be advantageous is to support people that are following specific diets. As an athlete aspirant that cooks a lot at home on my own, finding a place that discloses all the dishes' composition would be convenient as it would inspire me to eat something different without necessarily feeling guilty. Thus, people could still hang out and enjoy a good meal without compromising their goal results. In stark contrast, some people believe that the excess of details in dishes description could stimulate eating disorders, as individuals would be aware of the amount of calories and nutrients they are ingesting in a single meal. Although it is less likely to be considered a trigger, for those predisposed to suffer from any kind of body dysmorphia, these pieces of information can be overwhelming. To conclude, the overall benefits of showing nutritional information in a restaurant menu to food allergy customers and individuals following diets would overcome the possibility of it being a trigger for clients with eating disorders.